50 Books I Think You Should Read

Reading is one of those things that I do for fun. I feel like most writers do. Since I’m in college I’ve read more books each year and every time I find myself enchanted by an author’s words or writing style. In every creative writing course I’ve taken the professor has said: “You need to read in order to write.” It’s almost like studying for us. While you also need to read to write, you also have to write. When I find myself blocked, reading more books or even rereading some of my favs gets me out of the dry spell. So I thought I would help out my fellow writers (whether you do it for fun or as a career) by recommending books you should read.

  1. To Kill A Mocking Bird by Harper Lee
  2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  3. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemmingway
  4. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
  5. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
  6. Beloved by Toni Morrison
  7. A Good Man is Hard to Find and Other Stories by Flannery O’Connor
  8. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  9. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  10. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare
  11. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  12. Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan
  13. Nightshade by Andrea Cremer
  14. The Face on the Milk Carton by Caroline B. Cooney
  15. Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse
  16. Animal Farm by George Orwell
  17. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay
  18. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  19. Lament by Maggie Stiefvater
  20. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
  21. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
  22. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
  23. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
  24. Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
  25. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  26. Anthem by Ayn Rand
  27. I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore
  28. Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin
  29. Fateful by Claudia Gray
  30. Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
  31. Heroes, Gods, and Monsters of the Greek Myths by Bernard Evslin
  32. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  33. Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
  34. Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow*
  35. The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas
  36. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart*
  37. White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide by Carol Anderson*
  38. Carrie by Stephen King
  39. Kindred by Octavia Butler
  40. The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
  41. Night by Ellie Wiesel
  42. Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl by Harriet Jacobs
  43. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
  44. Dubliners by James Joyce
  45. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
  46. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving
  47. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan
  48. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  49. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  50. The Color Purple by Alice Walker

 

“If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” –Toni Morrison

 

Are there any books on this list that you’ve read? Do you have any recommendations for me? Comment below or tweet me @champagneroses_ and let me know what you’ve read lately!

Over&Out ❤

*Currently Reading 
Leave a Reply

