Happy 20th Anniversary Potterheads

The greatest thing Harry Potter has given the world, is the freedom to use our imagination” – Oprah Winfrey

I was about seven years old when Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was released in theaters. I had recognized the franchise, because the books were in the possession of my cousin who is an avid reader like myself. The first book was published in 1997, but I hadn’t actually begun reading them myself until I was about ten years old. I’ve always written stories for as long as I can remember anyway, but reading Harry Potter ignited a different kind of passion in me when it came to writing stories. I knew for a fact that I wanted to do what J.K. Rowling was doing. I wanted to write stories, and I wanted to write like her. Of course I have now developed my own style, and have ventured into more than just writing about witches, ghosts, and things that go bump in the night. But reading this series was one of the reasons it started.

Harry Potter taught me a lot as a child. One of those lessons was the importance of friendship, and how it can make you a stronger person. Friends can bring something different to the table like Hermione did with her knowledge and wit, and like Ron did with his courage. Another lesson was about family, and how you don’t necessarily have to be related to someone for them to be considered family. Family is someone who will fight with you, and when you need it, for you. Death was also another lesson Harry Potter taught me. As children people assume we don’t truly understand death, and what it means. Often times people will even try to shelter children from the concept. Unfortunately, Harry had to watch his parents die, and he learned about death earlier than most children should. But he overcame it. Every time someone he loved died, he fell down, but he got up again. And he learned that no matter what they were always with him no matter where he went. It’s one of the most important lessons I think the series has taught me. No matter what life throws at you, you have to get up and you have to keep going. “Those that love us, never truly leave us.”

My two favorite books are Order of the Phoenix & Deathly Hallows. Sirius Black was one of my favorite characters from the books. He was treated like such an outcast, but didn’t let that bother him or stop him from doing what was best for his godson. Dobby was also another one of my favorite characters as he was the most loyal person to Harry, and even gave his life to help him one last time. Hermione taught me that girls should never be ashamed of knowing too much or learning. It did take us quite a long time to be able to get an education, especially for us women of color. Each time I reread the series I discover something new, or some phrase touches me a different way. It’s one of the greatest things about rereading a book you love. You notice different things, and understand aspects of the story differently. There’s nothing like the first time reading a book. But for some reason everytime I open the HP books to read, it feels as though I am opening them for the first time.

If I had to choose a fictional place to live for all eternity, Hogwarts would be it.

 

In honor of the 20th Anniversary of the wizarding world of Harry Potter (belated anniversary lol) here is a list of my favorite quotes from both the books and the films.

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

“It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

“Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times if only one remembers to turn on the light”

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals”*

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

“Dark and difficult times lie ahead. Soon we must all face the choice between what is right and what is easy.”

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

“We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.”*

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

“Things we lose have a way of coming back to us in the end, if not always in the way we expect.”

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

“You sort of start thinking anything’s possible if you’ve got enough nerve.”

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

“It is the unknown we fear when we look upon death and darkness, nothing more.”

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”*

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

“Until the very end.”

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

 

If any of you have as much love for Harry Potter as I do, don’t be afraid to let me know down in the comments below. Or tweet me @champagneroses_. If you love a different series as much as I love Harry Potter I’d love to know that too. Let’s share our love for stories together!

Over&Out<3

“No story lives unless someone wants to listen. The stories we love best do live in us forever. So whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.” ― J.K. Rowling

*The best is in my opinion

Leave a Reply

